This Is How I Feel

I miss my Dad so much. All the time. But the intense grief is overwhelming and sneaky, enveloping me in its sharp teeth and blackness when I neglect to look over my shoulder.

I’ll be brushing my teeth and I can’t breathe or stand it hurts so bad.

It hurts so bad.

It soaks through my bones and spreads from my heart until I feel it so intensely a part of me that I grab on and hold it close because I need it.

Then as quickly as it came, I’m left alone with dried tears and the haunting ache I’ll feel forever.

And I return to my regularly scheduled life. A life that’s happier than it’s ever been.

Leave a Reply

